Early Years

Brighton College Dubai

Early Years

The Early Years covers the period of learning for children in FS1 and FS2. The curriculum is presented in a rich, stable, caring and effective environment that enables each child to realise their cognitive, social, emotional, and physical potential and to develop his or her aesthetic awareness.

It extends a child's range of learning experiences beyond that which can be easily provided within the family. The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is taught in ways that build on a child's curiosity and interests, enabling them to learn through planned worthwhile play activities. Children in FS1 and FS2 learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

In our Early Years and Prep School, we teach the Read Write Inc. Phonics programme developed by Ruth Miskin.
We asked pupils from FS 1 to Year 2 to share the bouncy and stretchy sounds.


There are eight interrelated areas of learning and development that comprise the EYFS framework. Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in five specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Arabic, Islamic and Social Studies

All eight areas are used to plan your child's learning and activities and are designed to be flexible so that staff can follow each child's unique needs and interests.

Although young children do not separate learning into curriculum areas, and every aspect of the curriculum is interrelated and interdependent, the eight areas form the framework on which the Early Years Foundation Stage is built.

The principles which guide the work of all early years' practitioners are grouped into four themes:

  • A Unique Child - every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Positive Relationships - children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Enabling Environments - children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers;
  • Learning and Development - children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all the children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities. Our Early Years teachers teach by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.

Mobile Navigation Menu