Early Years

Early Years

Foundation Stage 1 and 2

The rich, play-based Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum will support children’s physical, emotional, social and linguistic development, whilst also providing the foundations for literacy and numeracy. There are seven areas of learning and development in the EYFS.  All areas are important and inter-connected.  

Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.  The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design.

The children have a balance of working independently, collaboratively with their peers and alongside adults. Small group work (e.g. phonics and mathematics) takes place, with some more formal whole-class teaching, particularly in preparation for the transition of children into Year 1.

Mobile Navigation Menu